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Torrance Police Encourages Parents to Talk to 

Their Teen About Driving Safely 
National Teen Driver Safety Week is Oct. 20-26 
 
 

National Teen Driver Safety Week is Oct. 20-26, and the Torrance Police Department is 
asking parents and guardians to take the time to discuss with their teen the rules of the 
road intended to keep them safe.  
 
Driving remains the most dangerous activity for teens. Vehicle crashes are the leading 
cause of death for teens 15 to 18 years old. In 2017, 2,247 people were killed in 
crashes involving a teen driver (15-18 years old), according to data from the National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). 
 
“Like anything new, it takes practice and experience to be a good driver,” Sergeant 
David Koenig said. “Teen drivers are also more likely to take risks and pick up bad 
habits behind the wheel, which is why it is important for parents to be involved and take 
steps to ensure their teen is staying safe on the road.” 
 
According to the California Highway Patrol (CHP), six out of every 10 crashes involving 
teens were caused by driver distraction. 
 
The Torrance Police Department offers tips to parents and guardians about starting 
conversations about safe driving with teens, and the responsibilities that come with 
being a licensed driver: 

 Graduated Driver License (GDL): Learn about California’s GDL laws, which place 

restrictions on passengers and driving at night during the first year they have a license. 

 Lead by example: Practice what you preach. Have driving sessions with your teen. 

 Set Ground Rules: Be firm on things like not using the phone while driving, no friends 

in the car, following the speed limit and never driving after drinking or using drugs. 

Establish consequences you will enforce if your teen breaks the rules. 

 Understanding the Consequences: Teach them about zero-tolerance laws regarding 

alcohol and California’s cell phone law, which bars drivers under 18 from using a cell 

phone for any reason, including hands-free.  

https://www.ghsa.org/state-laws/issues/teen%20and%20novice%20drivers
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 Sober Driving: Emphasize the importance of 

never riding with someone who has been 

drinking or using drugs. 

 
Funding for this program was provided by a grant 
from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through 
the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 
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