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DUI Checkpoint Nets 2 Arrests

The Torrance Police Department Traffic Unit conducted a DUI/Drivers License
checkpoint on April 13, 2018, in the eastbound lanes of the 4300 block of Pacific Coast
Highway between the hours of 8:00 p.m. and 2:30 a.m. Checkpoints are placed in
locations that have the greatest opportunity for achieving drunk and drugged driving
deterrence and provide the greatest safety for officers and the public.

In recent years, California has seen a disturbing increase in drug-impaired driving
crashes. The Torrance Police Department supports the new effort from the Office of
Traffic Safety that aims to educate all drivers that “DUI Doesn’t Just Mean Booze.” If
you take prescription drugs, particularly those with a driving or operating machinery
warning on the label, you might be impaired enough to get a DUI. Marijuana can also
be impairing, especially in combination with alcohol or other drugs, and can result in a
DUI.

Studies of California drivers have shown that 30 percent of drivers in fatal crashes had
one or more drugs in their systems. A study of active drivers showed more tested
positive for drugs that may impair driving (14 percent) than did for alcohol (7.3 percent).
Of the drugs, marijuana was most prevalent, at 7.4 percent, slightly more than alcohol.

Throughout the evening, 1,150 vehicles passed through the checkpoint, which resulted
in the following:

945 Vehicles Screened

2 DUI-Alcohol suspects arrested

1 Public intoxication arrest

6 Drivers cited/arrested for operating a vehicle unlicensed or while
suspended/revoked

e 4 Citations issued

Drivers are encouraged to download the Designated Driver VIP, or “DDVIP,” free mobile
app for Android or iPhone. The DDVIP app helps find nearby bars and restaurants that
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feature free incentives for the designated sober
driver, from free non-alcoholic drinks to free
appetizers and more. The feature-packed app
even has social media tie-ins and even a tab for
the non-DD to call Uber, Lyft or Curb.

Drivers caught driving impaired can expect the
impact of a DUI arrest to include jail time, fines,
fees, DUI classes, license suspension and other
expenses that can exceed $10,000 not to mention
the embarrassment when friends and family find out.

The Torrance Police Department will be conducting another DUI/Drivers License
Checkpoint or DUI Saturation Patrol in the near future as part of our ongoing
commitment to lowering deaths and injuries upon our streets and highways.

The checkpoint was funded by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety,
through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, reminding everyone to
‘Report Drunk Driver — Call 9-1-1°.

Sergeant David Koenig
Acting Traffic and Special Events Division Commander
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