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Torrance Police Department DUI
Checkpoint Nets 1 Arrest

The Torrance Police Department Traffic Unit conducted a DUI/Drivers License
checkpoint on September 8, 2017, in the 3400 block of Torrance Blvd. between the
hours of 8:00 p.m. and 3:00 a.m. Checkpoints are placed in locations that have the
greatest opportunity for achieving drunk and drugged driving deterrence and provide the
greatest safety for officers and the public.

High Visibility Enforcements, which include DUI/Drivers License checkpoints, have been
shown to lower DUI deaths and injuries. A major component of these checkpoints are
the deterrent effects it has on those who might drive alcohol or drug impaired, bringing
about more awareness and encouraging everyone to use sober designated drivers.

Throughout the evening, 1,269 vehicles passed through the checkpoint, which resulted
in the following:

1,000 Vehicles Screened

1 DUI-Alcohol suspect arrested

4 Drivers cited/arrested for operating a vehicle while unlicensed
4 Miscellaneous traffic citations issued

Drivers are encouraged to download the Designated Driver VIP, or “DDVIP,” free mobile
app for Android or iPhone. The DDVIP app helps find nearby bars and restaurants that
feature free incentives for the designated sober driver, from free non-alcoholic drinks to
free appetizers and more. The feature-packed app even has social media tie-ins and
even a tab for the non-DD to call Uber, Lyft or Curb.

Studies of California drivers have shown that 30 percent of drivers in fatal crashes had
one or more drugs in their systems. A study of active drivers showed more tested
positive for drugs that may impair driving (14 percent) than did for alcohol (7.3 percent).
Of the drugs, marijuana was most prevalent, at 7.4 percent, slightly more than alcohol.
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Drivers caught driving impaired can expect the
impact of a DUI arrest to include jail time, fines,
fees, DUI classes, license suspension and other
expenses that can exceed $10,000 not to mention
the embarrassment when friends and family find
out.

The Torrance Police Department will be conducting
another DUI/Drivers License In March of 2017 in
our ongoing commitment to lowering deaths and
injuries upon our streets and highways.

The checkpoint was funded by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety,
through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, reminding everyone to
‘Report Drunk Driver — Call 9-1-1°.

Lieutenant Jeremiah Hart
Traffic and Special Events Division Commander
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